Waxwings in the UK


Between November and Late March, Bohemian Waxwings invade the UK to feed on the various berries that laden our trees and Bushes in particular rowan and hawthorn, but also Cotoneaster and rose.

I took this photo one afternoon, at the end of December, as the sun was behind me.

I used a Nikon D300 and a Nikon 500mm F4VR lens. Shutter speed was 1/320 of a second at aperture f7.1, iso 200.

I saw the full moon behind the Waxwing but could not get the depth of field I needed to get both the bird and the moon in focus so I took 2 shots and merged them in Photoshop CS5 into this final shot. A slight warm up filter and sharpening with Photokit Sharpener were applied in Photoshop also

Leave a comment

Filed under Bird Posts

Leave a Reply

